PDA

View Full Version : Kitchen upgrades

DrL
10-29-2017, 13:21
Part story, part request for ideas

I've been using the same kitchen setup for three years now. It works, but it contains an assortment of items collected over the years and it always feels like a mini pack explosion when I stop to cook dinner.

I recently added a bear hang kit for a solo hike. That went well, so I've decided to add that to my regular gear, at least when it is warranted. The bear hang kit needed some tweaking (i.e. 40 feet of 550 paracord) so I decided to tweak the whole kitchen including the adoption of an alcohol stove. I've been happy with the pocket rocket canister setup, but HEY! let's try something new.

BEFORE:

Kept the grease pot, added a Fancee Feest stove from Zelph, a windscreen from QiWiz, an 8 oz water bottle for fuel.
Ditched the pot holder. The blue cozy works just fine.
Made a large Tyvek for my food bag. To be used in combination with the green liner. Cinched shut with some paracord and constrictor knot.
Made a small Tyvek pouch for a rock bag and swapped out the 550 paracord for DynaGlide line.
Chopped my spoon in half (I forgot to take a before picture, use your imagination)

AFTER:

You'll note that I ditched the 450 ml Toaks mug/pot and bag, but haven't replaced it. I'm still looking for a small mug/cup that I can brew a small cup of coffee in the summer. In the fall/spring, I'll bring my larger GSI mug that holds 500 mL and doesn't burn my hands. Anyone know of a small (250 mL) mug that is less than 3 inches tall? So it might fit inside the grease pot?

Looks like a reduction of 5.9 ounces when you include the GSI mug.

Any other ideas? Suggestions?

cmoulder
10-29-2017, 16:14