PDA

View Full Version : Thru-Hike February 2018- NOBO

JReuter
11-07-2017, 17:55
Hey Everyone,

This is my first posting, and as such. I want to thank each person/contributor for the amount of information that has been added and made available. The community contributions to this forum, and the forum itself have been able to make this endeavor more realistic for me, especially given that I am newly married and have a 3 year old child. My wife is not too big on the idea of me hiking parts of the trail alone, however, I am not worried in the least bit.(more on that below) ANYWAYZ>>

Well, I am new to the WhiteBlaze.net forums, as in I have not had a profile very long, but I have been an active reader for some time. I have been doing the personal research for a thru-hike for a rather lengthy period of time. I have probably planned the hike, in total, 4 times with me never actually starting it. I am finally going to do so!! I have been able to provide enough details as to where I will be, on what date, with a +/- distance as well for my wife to feel comfortable with me leaving for an extended period of time(unsupervised). I am a former FMF Corpsman so my skill-set in terms of medical needs/knowledge of nutrition needs, is where it needs to be. I am a competent hiker, and camper as well. The only thing I have hesitation/questions with are some of the gear options available. I have noticed that there has been a major influx of Hammock Camping, and I have been hesitant in purchasing a system to test it out. I have a both a 1 man 3-season, and a 1 man 4-season already, but am contemplating getting a camping Hammock setup. I am also interested in Sleeping Pad(s). I have only used the old school, military foam roll, so I feel it is time for a new one. Lastly, stoves. I have a custom alcohol stove, but I am interested in either upgrading to a system like JetBoil.