PDA

View Full Version : Winter SNP Thru-Hike

lal2wx
11-16-2017, 18:23
Hey guys, I posted in the SNP forum but wanted input from you all too.

I'm looking into doing the SNP section next month and wanted to see if anyone had general input, experience with water sources in the park during the winter, or info on parking at each end for setting up a car shuttle.

I have experience camping in alpine situations so I know I have the gear and am planning to do it fast and light (as much as you can with winter gear!). I'm thinking 4 full days for the 100 miles which is a fair pace even with the early sunsets for me. If we get another partner we might put a car in the middle as a gear cache and do a lot of miles our first day, but this feels like cheating to me so tbd.

I'm a college student from nearby SNP and have spent many summer, fall, and spring days in the park but not too many during the winter since I'm usually busy with finals or gone for break.

Thanks for any input you can share!

chknfngrs
11-16-2017, 19:35
Range View Cabin has a killer spring. Only experience I have w winter in the park. I suspect all waysides will be closed and you may have to drop off ridge for water. Don’t know though.

Coffee
11-16-2017, 19:46
There are frost free hydrants at certain locations (the park should be able to provide a list). I remember using one near the Swift Run Gap entrance station (slightly off the AT) and in the Big Meadows complex. In addition to Range View Cabin, the Rose River provided good water for me in a snowy March hike several years ago. I've hiked the entire AT through the park but only sections of it in winter conditions. Beautifully uncrowded but few services and downright frigid in winter.

1azarus
11-16-2017, 20:45
expect the drive to be closed if there is a glimmer of a threat of snow, and plan shuttling/parking to work on other roads if that happens.

Skyline
11-16-2017, 21:08