PDA

View Full Version : Question for quilt users

DanTaylor
11-25-2017, 16:14
I have been wanting to switch over to a quilt, mostly because I do not like the confines of a bag. My question, pads makes me sweat unless I have a sufficient amount of material between my body and the pad. I have never used a quilt before so how do you keep the pad from making you sweat?

sethd513
11-25-2017, 16:34
I just got home from a trip. It was 32* in the tent and I used my 40* quilt and xtherm. I wore a base layer, fleece hoodie and down pants to bed with a set of heavy socks. When I first got in my legs were very warm. Almost felt like they were perspiring. Fell asleep and around 1am had to throw on my rain coat and down coat and I was toasty again.

If I take ibuprofen before I go to sleep I sweat. If I wear to many layers I sweat. I probably could of gotten away with a xlite pad but my thought is that the pad only reflex back what you put out if it’s within the temp rating. A r 1 pad won’t help you much at 10*. But it is said that an xtherm in summer is sticky and warm. I’d rather be able to add or remove layers to be comfortable then fighting an under rated sleeping pad. The con of a quilt is needing a great pad if you are a ground sleeper. The best thing about a quilt though is being able to vent your feet, kick a leg out, cover your chest cover your legs or button up tight. I don’t think it’s your pad, I think it’s something above it. Definitely get a quilt.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TX Aggie
11-25-2017, 17:52
If you’re using a mummy bag, it’s pretty easy to see what a quilt is like: just leave it unzipped and put the opening under you. The hood might get in the way a small bit, but it can generally be folded away.
If you’re worried about contact with the pad, a thin base layer should be plenty.