PDA

View Full Version : Food Bag & Protection (Unwanted Friends)

mbqhappy
11-28-2017, 15:16
Subject: Food Bag & Protection (Unwanted Friends)

Hello Everyone, I am new to all of this. On March 2018, I will be attempting to Thru Hike NOBO the AT.

The more I read, the more I get confused...LOL I really need your feedback on the following questions:

1) Food Bag: Basically, What will suffice to use? Would greatly appreciate knowing Brand Name and Construction Material // FYI Because of the weight, I am not interested in Bear Canisters.
2) Bag Liter Capacity size needed for 5-6 days (2Lbs per day)?

Last and most important. If I hang my food bag always....

3) Other than Bears, What animals will still be able to reach the bag?
4) What can I do to prevent the animals from getting to my food bag?

Thanks everyone for your time and consideration in providing your information.

Happy Holidays to all

Christoph
11-28-2017, 15:28
Well, there's only 1 spot (to my knowledge) that requires a bear canister on the AT. So in all actuality, you won't need one, like you stated.
This year I made it all the way to Maine with nothing but one of those rope and nylon type bags they always give out at events and it did very well for me. Most of the time I slept with my bag but when I flet like I "should" hang it, I used the rope straps, a carabiner, and some rope (if there was no pole or bear box nearby). Everything inside the bag was put in gallon sized ziplock bags and that kept everything dry. Very simple and effective, but if I did it again I might look into those Ursck (sp?) bear bags. They're supposed to be pretty tough and a lot of people had them. Not sure on the size though.

Christoph
11-28-2017, 15:30
Like this...

Slo-go'en
11-28-2017, 17:41
The two critters you need to watch out for are bears and mice. Squirrels can be a problem too. No stopping these guys. I suppose a raccoon could be a problem, but I've yet to see one on the AT.