PDA

View Full Version : Smartwool Merino & Silk Base Experience

Sailor (The other one)
12-28-2017, 11:23
Looking at baselayers for our 2018 thru. I need to hear from thru-hikers who have experience with Smartwool 150 merino, with Terramar merino and/or silk and anyone who found a silk baselayer brand that stood up for the whole trip.
Thanks.

Tipi Walter
12-28-2017, 11:30
Looking at baselayers for our 2018 thru. I need to hear from thru-hikers who have experience with Smartwool 150 merino, with Terramar merino and/or silk and anyone who found a silk baselayer brand that stood up for the whole trip.
Thanks.

This is right up my alley as I'm a misquided expert on both silk and merino baselayers.

The Smartwool/Icebreaker 150 weight merino is very thin and good for the summer (and I have found Smartwool generally is less beefy than Icebreaker). Most of the time I use Icebreaker 260 wt leggings for all my backpacking trips---both to sleep in as pajamas and to hike in under my shorts as cold weather "pants".

My standard torso baselayer is a long sleeve silk top in either crew neck, mock turtle or full turtleneck. I love silk tops against the skin because they feel good under whatever you want to wear for a midlayer---merino tops, capilene tops, duofold, etc. And my silk top is also generally what I sleep in too, unless it gets wet.

The secret to buying silk is to find the Midweight model---I just ordered a couple midweight silk tops from Wintersilks. The lightweight silk is just too sheer and thin. LL Bean also makes a decent silk top.

colorado_rob
12-28-2017, 11:35
I used a short sleeve smartwool "base layer" for my entire AT hike over three years. I put "base layer" in quotes because it was basically my hiking shirt, pretty much on my body 99.5% of the time, only time off was when in laundry. that's what is nice about merino wool; it does resist stink better than anything I've worn.

Sure, yeah, you will stink anyway, but wearing merino make you stink less.