PDA

View Full Version : What The Hell!!!

wordstew
01-18-2018, 16:58
I was quite surprised that as a Veteran I didn't get into a National Park for free or a discounted rate. However I dealt with it, but now this.....

"17 of the most popular national parks could soon become an unaffordable luxury to lower-income Americans if the National Park Service (NPS) implements a pricing system that would raise admission from around $30 per vehicle to $70 per vehicle during peak season. Other proposed fees include $50 per motorcycle, $30 for a person on bike or foot and $75 for an annual pass to a specific park."

Gambit McCrae
01-18-2018, 17:02
$75 for annual pass seems like the way to go :)

I personally don't see anything wrong with it...Parks are underfunded as it is, why not let the people that go and enjoy it help pickup some of the expenses, while at the same time cut down on the population going to the park for less of an impact.

illabelle
01-18-2018, 17:10
Seems pretty steep, especially if that $75 annual pass is only for one park. I'm soooooo glad the citizens of TN/NC thought ahead to prevent that sort of thing from happening to the Smokies.

Old Grouse
01-18-2018, 17:24
When you get old enough, buy a lifetime senior pass. It'll save you some money.

ldsailor
01-18-2018, 17:31
When you get old enough, buy a lifetime senior pass. It'll save you some money.

Uh, uh. It's now $80. I bought mine last year before the prices went up. The senior pass cost $10 then. Nothing is cheap anymore except the air we breathe

HooKooDooKu
01-18-2018, 17:45
Seems pretty steep, especially if that $75 annual pass is only for one park. I'm soooooo glad the citizens of TN/NC thought ahead to prevent that sort of thing from happening to the Smokies.