PDA

View Full Version : Compression bags/sacks and sleeping bags

timhines
02-09-2006, 23:36
All,
I'm new to overnight hiking. I'm working on packing my equipment in the most efficient way. Right now it looks like the biggest thing in my bag--practically taking up 95% of my bag.

It's a kelty 20 degree bag(synthetic), long size. It stays in a "compression bag" (so I thought) but the dang thing still takes up all the space.

Should I put it in another compression bag with straps or work on finding a more compact bag?

Cuffs
02-09-2006, 23:37
What Brand/model/size pack are you using?

timhines
02-09-2006, 23:50
Lowe Alpine Frontier 65+15 pack, it's 4000+900 cu. inches

k4kam
02-10-2006, 11:37
Here's a tip I learned from Win Porter at Mountain Crossings: The compression sack that came with the North Face bag I bought was too small. Once the bag was stuffed, the sack was like a rock.

I got a bigger stuff sack. Once the bag was stuffed, the sack was still flexible. It went in my backpack vertically, then is twisted to a horizontal position in the bottom of the backpack. The extra flexibility in the stuff sack / sleeping bag allowed it to conform to the corners in the backpack, filling otherwise wasted space.

Do the same thing with clothing in another stuff sack.

Works great!

DLFrost
02-10-2006, 12:39
All,
I'm new to overnight hiking. I'm working on packing my equipment in the most efficient way. Right now it looks like the biggest thing in my bag--practically taking up 95% of my bag.

It's a kelty 20 degree bag(synthetic), long size. It stays in a "compression bag" (so I thought) but the dang thing still takes up all the space.

Should I put it in another compression bag with straps or work on finding a more compact bag?

Lowe Alpine Frontier 65+15 pack, it's 4000+900 cu. inches