PDA

View Full Version : Which UQ best suits my needs......

saltysack
01-22-2018, 19:43
Most of my trips are fall to spring on southern AT and try to hit a western trail in the fall for week or two. I’m a newbie hammock user, just ordered a Dutchware chameleon in wide. Plan to mainly use my EE wide/long 20* Enigma as TQ. Debating on a 3/4 length UG vs full length by HG and EE...any feedback welcome. During a winter trip if it’s due to be well below freezing I’ll probably ditch the hammock for my Duomid and xtherm.....3/4 vs Full length? Space and wt a concern as well...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

blue indian
01-22-2018, 20:07
How tall are you?

I am 6ft even and use a 3/4. It covers shoulders to knees.

I love this size, it saves weight and space in my pack.

I also carry some CCF as a sit pad and supplement with that if needed.

I think its a pretty versatile setup

saltysack
01-22-2018, 20:22
How tall are you?

I’m 5’11” 220......perfect I’ll save a few bucks and oz....I assume the hammock set up will be tight in the new burn.....if I ever get it!.....my fault though I changed design again. Ron’s probably sick of me....[emoji2]

saltysack
01-22-2018, 20:23
20* Phoenix or any better options? Not cure if EE even makes 3/4 UQ?

saltysack
01-23-2018, 00:46
How tall are you?

As far as tarps go I’m looking at the HG hex tarp...not sure if I should spend lil more and get one with doors?

Shrewd
01-23-2018, 11:51
I’m 6’3 and used a 3/4 length for the whole AT. I loved it. Sometimes I had it higher to cover my head because I’m a dose sleeper and often curled up anyway.

But I’ll second the butt pad; they’re great.

Check out LocoLibre Gear, they make fantastic quilts and you can order down to the inch what length you want, plus tons of colors

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180123/69bd9bc49178cad4eb3a5ed361675254.jpg

I love that purple!

Shrewd
01-23-2018, 11:53
*side sleeper

blue indian
01-23-2018, 13:10