PDA

View Full Version : Food w/o additives

mjaynes288
02-10-2006, 19:04
I am new to backpacking and need help finding food I can eat on the trail. I cannot eat anything with nitrites, sulfites, or MSG. In addition I am allergic to all milk products(lactose, whey, sodium casinate, cheese, etc) and all beans, ect(too many to list). This means no Lipton or raman. At home I use all organic foods. It is impossible on the trail for long trips. Any suggestions would be helpful.

sarbar
02-10-2006, 19:18
You can do it....it isn't as hard as you might think-take what you eat at home, and dry it. Simple as that!
Learn to use stuff from www.justtomatoes.com-their freezedried and dried vegs/fruits are top quality.
I eat about 80% organic at home, and I am a limited diet nowdays due to my health (I eat little that is processed).
I was very frustrated to go from eatinganything I wanted-to trying to figure out what the heck I could eat. Then I slowed down mentally and thought..well, duh, I'll just eat what I do at home.

Can you eat rice? Wheat? Most pastas are easily precooked and dried at home, and will come back to life with just boiling water.

You might look at my newest website..you might get a few ideas, at least, from the vegan section:
http://www.freewebs.com/healthytrailfood/

Your best bet is to get a dehydrator if you don't have one, and get cracking! Dry a ton of fruit and veggies up, cook up your favorite foods, and dry them :)

BW2006
02-10-2006, 19:20
get a food dehydrator and you can just dehydrate the foods you normally eat at home. You can make dried fruits without the sulfites. Can you eat rice? Success rice makes a brown rice that cooks in 10 minutes. It's not exactly organic brown rice but it's quick. You could add dried meats and vegies and some herbs and make your own quick dinners.

mjaynes288
02-10-2006, 21:14
Thanks for the suggestions. Keep them coming. I am looking for a dehydrator.