PDA

View Full Version : Audiobooks on the trail?

DownEaster
03-15-2018, 15:26
Rather than listen to music I've already heard many times before, I think I'd like to have some audiobooks on my phone if it's needful to distract me from the recurring suckitude of hiking. I thought there would be lots of public domain older works available (hoping for apropos stuff like Henry David Thoreau and Ralph Waldo Emerson) but I'm having spotty luck coming up with free material to warm my penny-pinching heart. I've found Aldous Huxley's Brave New World and H.G. Wells's The War of the Worlds, but those aren't exactly upbeat. I was gifted a couple of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone alphabet books, but I'll have to read several in e-book format before I'm ready for the audio M and N. I've also found Stevenson's Treasure Island, which I enjoyed reading in junior high. That's everything so far.

Clearly I'm a rookie at finding free audiobooks. I've struck out at Amazon, because searching for free content returns every book available at $0.00 with a free trial of Audible; yet that's limited to one book and then the hassle of getting out of the automatic subscription charge. There must be lots of really (no strings) free audiobooks out there if you know where to look, from the publicly-funded old "books for the blind" series if nothing else. (Somebody has to have digitized those from the LPs.)

Pointers, please?

Gambit McCrae
03-15-2018, 15:53
I have not had good luck listening to books on the trail. If it is a nice flat trail and I am moseyn' along I can do some book on tape, but if im trying to kill it up a climb I can forget it

As far as finding free audio books, there is a free audioi app but you cant be picky with the selection. I use audible thru my amazon prime membership which gives me a free book a month

Coffee
03-15-2018, 16:08