PDA

View Full Version : What kind of tarp/tarp setup do you have?

Squirrel29
03-28-2018, 19:58
Tarp users I am interested in using a tarp on my backpacking trips but would like some advise on sizes, brands, or maybe even DIY. Explain your setup to give me some ideas please. Thanks

Venchka
03-28-2018, 20:08
The rainfly from my TarpTent StratoSpire 1. Huge. Dry. 21 ounces. Pitches fast. No extra rigging required.
https://www.tarptent.com/store/stratospire1-fly
Wayne

Burrhead
03-28-2018, 20:16
I'm just learning about tarps. I bought an ENO pro fly. Heavier than I want but it didn't break the bank.I have been setting it up in the yard in different configurations and seeing how it works in the rain.

MuddyWaters
03-28-2018, 20:31
Shaped cuben
Excellent protection
Light wt

High cost

Use with inner net, bivy, or groundsheet only.

devoidapop
03-28-2018, 20:46
You could spend hours watching tarp setup videos on YouTube. That really is a good place to start.

Malto
03-28-2018, 20:48
I made two cuben solomid style tarps. I have used others but I believe the mid style offers a lot of advantages from wind resistance to easy setup.

Miner
03-28-2018, 21:40
Since 2008, I've used MLD's Grace Solo cuben tarps which are catenary cut which makes them easier to stake out with a taunt pitch, but limits the flexibility to pitch them in anything but an A-frame pitch. Their shape is more trapezoidal but mostly based on a rectangular shape. Before that I used 10'x8' rectangular tarps for 2 years before downsizing to solo size. I did try Zpack's hexamid one year but felt I lost room and went back to the Grace Solo Tarp in a 0.5 wt cuben fiber. Total weight of tarp,titanium stakes, guylines, and stuff sack is a little under 9 oz though I did have the standard dimensions shrunk a little as part of a custom build.