PDA

View Full Version : Rain pants in GA

CallMeetHike
04-22-2018, 18:51
I'll be doing a section hike at the end of May from Woody Gap to around Unicoi & am wondering if rain pants are necessary? I have completed the first part of GA but I hiked it in the month of September during a pretty bad drought so I have no experience with rain on the trail whatsoever. Thanks!

Runner2017
04-22-2018, 19:07
It's bit wet this year in GA but imho a rain kilt or something like Sierra Designs Chaps will be better since they give you more ventilation in high humidity environment. Rain pants are better for dry and cold environment tho.

Sent from my ASUS_Z01HD using Tapatalk

daddytwosticks
04-23-2018, 07:11
End of May down in these parts is poncho season for me. If you are not a poncho type of guy, I'd skip the rain pants. :)

Thefurther
04-23-2018, 07:43
i would ask a shuttle driver to hold some gear for you and if you need them call them and have them deliver them to you at a gap or something . if you do not have them drop it at your car before you end your hike or have them meet you on your way out . i would just roll through without them .

bigcranky
04-23-2018, 16:28
I think rain pants can have a place in my pack as part of my layering system -- they can be my only long pants in shoulder-season weather, and they layer well over wool long john bottoms when it's cold in camp. But having hiked in Georgia in early June, I would not take them at the end of May. I'd take my homemade rain kilt to keep my shorts from getting soaked, or just let them get soaked :)

Tipi Walter
04-23-2018, 17:09
Of all the crap I carry rain pants probably could be the one item I should leave at home BUT when I need them they're vital. How so? Well, in a surprise rainstorm with lowering temps rain pants like a rain jacket can come in handy if you must hike all day in bad conditions and keep all your heat inside.

rocketsocks
04-23-2018, 18:00