PDA

View Full Version : Which Section in July? NC/TN or MA/NH

shelb
04-22-2018, 20:10
I have been sectioning for nine years.... I like to "tag" onto ends that I have hiked in the past... (because I hope to complete the AT someday!).

This year (2018), my choices are:

Clingman's Dome to Roan Mountain
OR
Cheshire, MA (Mt Greylock area) to Wentworth, NH.

As I said, I plan to hike them both someday anyway, but I am wondering if I might be better to hike one mid to end July and save the other area for early June in another year (thinking of heat/bugs/ and note: as a teacher, I can only hike in the summer...)

Thank you for your input! (I would also appreciate any info on water/shelters/hostels/resupply/"Treats"/etc you can offer outside of what AWOL's Guide and Guthooks has.

towerclimber727
04-22-2018, 20:20
I have been sectioning for nine years.... I like to "tag" onto ends that I have hiked in the past... (because I hope to complete the AT someday!).

This year (2018), my choices are:

Clingman's Dome to Roan Mountain
OR
Cheshire, MA (Mt Greylock area) to Wentworth, NH.

As I said, I plan to hike them both someday anyway, but I am wondering if I might be better to hike one mid to end July and save the other area for early June in another year (thinking of heat/bugs/ and note: as a teacher, I can only hike in the summer...)

Thank you for your input! (I would also appreciate any info on water/shelters/hostels/resupply/"Treats"/etc you can offer outside of what AWOL's Guide and Guthooks has.We're still getting some pretty cool weather here in NC so I'd imagine they're getting even colder nights up in Mass....so I'd say it depends on what amd how much you want to carry for gear.

Sent from my VS996 using Tapatalk

rubyvermonter
04-23-2018, 12:25