PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Trail Clinic

Mclarenmp
05-01-2018, 20:08
Hey all, thanks for having me.
I'm a Family Practice Resident in Virginia, I've been involved in wilderness medicine and wilderness activities for years now. I'm coming up on the last few weeks of my residency and I have a block of time from Mid-May until the end of June. I was thinking about setting up a local "Trail Clinic," for some of this time.
However, before I just jumped into it, I wanted people's thoughts on if this would be a useful thing. My intention is to set it up as a free service, but I would need to keep records of the visit (for legal purposes). Other than just general opinion, I was hoping for feedback on the following:

1) What level of care do you think would be best? i.e. - band-aid station, general health/exams, STI treatments, IV hydration.
As a fully licensed physician in VA, I'd be able to write prescriptions for things, but wouldn't be able to carry much in the way of prescription meds with me.
2) What, if any, over the counter medications/basic medical supplies are most needed?
3) Would having local info in a handout (food, hotels, taxi #, etc..) be useful?
4) Would handouts or quick, 5 minute talks, like hemmorhage control/splinting/hypo&hyperthermia be useful?

I realize most folks that do this type of hiking are pretty healthy and I'm not hitting ideal through hiker season here, but it's what I got to work with.
Also, something I have to investigate more is the legalities of just setting up on the trail and doing this, would appreciate any input on that if anyone is knowledgeable.

Thanks in advance! :banana

MuddyWaters
05-01-2018, 20:26