PDA

View Full Version : Tent Thoughts?

kevin
02-09-2003, 01:29
Early disclaimer -- I'm a clueless newbie. I've been lurking for about a month trying to pick up as much information as possible and finding quite a bit of it. I'm planning a long section hike in 2004 -- starting in late May and progressing as far as I get by early August.

Now for the question. I'm looking at tents, but as a bigger guy (6'4" 225) I'm concerned about getting something too small. There aren't really any outfitters nearby where I can check these out in person, so I thought I'd see if anyone has any good ideas. Right now I'm thinking about the MSR Zoid 1.5, Zoid 2.0 or the Sierra Designs Clip Flashlight CD. Any thoughts on these three (or other suggestions)? Thanks in advance.

Dirtyoldman
02-09-2003, 05:43
grab your sleeping bag and make the trip down to a decent outfitter, as much fun as new gear can be buying the same item more then once because of fitting issuses is a royal pain. (i am assuming you considered the alternatives like hammocks and tarps.)

RagingHampster
02-09-2003, 07:17
Check out Dancing Light Gear at Trailquest.com. Lightweight singlewall tents, that they will customize to your bodysize. A little on the mid-expensive side, but real good quality.

I'd also suggest packing up on some weekend and heading to an outfitter. Whatever you do (IMPORTANT) don't buy anything at the store! You should always give yourself time to think and rid yourself of the garbage the salesperson feeds you. Imagine yourself packing the tent, using it, and packing it up everyday. Also try to see how it will work with the rest of your duties, cooking dinner, and doing a doodie in the middle of the night. Also consider if you are an active sleeper (roll around alot) or dead paperweight. Hope this helps!

ez-does-it
02-09-2003, 11:32
Check out
www.wanderlustgear.com
They make the Nomad-Lite tents,great tents and very light.

SGT Rock
02-09-2003, 12:05