PDA

View Full Version : Lightning

spfleisig
07-09-2018, 08:00
NOLS' lightning protocol says not to stand near the entrance of a cave or small overhangs in a storm. If you are on trail, is standing in your typical shelter basically the same as standing near a cave opening? Or asked another way...is getting to a shelter a good option to reduce the chance of getting zapped or a bad option? Is your answer your opinion, or based on "professional" knowledge/experience?

Thanks

Sarcasm the elf
07-09-2018, 08:32
I’m no expert (though I do play one on the internet ;)) So I can’t tell you whether shelters are more or less safe than it would be to just stand in the open in the same spot, but I can tell you that 3 sided shelters do not provide lightning protection, at least according to the experts:

http://www.ngcoa.org/infocentral/applications/DocumentLibraryManager/upload/Small%20Shelters%20and%20Safety%20from%20Lightning .doc

My $0.02 is that since shelters are generally in the woods they’re relatively safe, and the roof can protect against small to moderate sized falling branches which is nice. I would not personally trust the rare shelter that is on a ridge or in an exposed area.

greenmtnboy
07-09-2018, 08:39
There is way too much fear thrown out in US society on this and so many other subjects; I have hiked during thunderstorms, your chance of being hit is minuscule, still I would avoid being near commonly lightning hit objects like metal towers.

Slo-go'en
07-09-2018, 08:53
There is way too much fear thrown out in US society on this and so many other subjects; I have hiked during thunderstorms, your chance of being hit is minuscule, still I would avoid being near commonly lightning hit objects like metal towers.

About 300 people a year are stuck by lightning. Of those, only 13 people were killed by lightning in 2017, the lowest number ever. On average over the last 10 years, 27 people get killed by lightning. Back in 1942, 432 people were killed by lightning.