PDA

View Full Version : Seeking hiking buddy

WhtMornStar
02-18-2006, 22:02
My only setback to hiking the AT is that I do not want to go alone. My family is completely against me going alone and i can understand their reasoning. I would like to start anywhere from mid-March to early April and hike at a fairly brisk pace. I cannot be on the trail past July so clearly my chances of completing the entire thing are not too high since I would have to hike about 20-25 miles a day to do so. I would at least like to get as far as possible but mainly I want to have the "AT" experience. I am a 23 yr-old college student currently making some career plan changes which has allotted me some ample free time. I'm a very laidback and affable person who I'm sure anyone would enjoy hiking with! ;)

BW2006
02-18-2006, 22:24
I'm heading out mid-March with Harley Hog Pit. You are welcome to join us but we are planning to start off slowly and then pick up the pace over the first few weeks. E-mail me if you are interested.

Cheesewhiz
02-19-2006, 00:15
I am heading to Springer on the 22 of March, I have no intentions in starting and hiking with a certain person and no having the freedom of hiking my own hike. Me not making it to K will only be me to blame! Anyways I would be more than honored to hike with someone else for a while or so maybe longer.

Wolfpaw
02-19-2006, 02:30
wow such strong opinions about this i half way agree however Im flying in and staying at the hiker hostile for the night and will be hiking on march 16 you are welcome to walk near me for a while i guess. although i am not sure of my pace hi or lo. peace paw

Wolf - 23000
02-19-2006, 02:54
WhtMornStar,

I'm head out for a couple of weeks starting in Mid-March. I'll be averaging over 20 miles per/day. I'm game if you think you can keep up. It will be my sixth time doing the southern AT, so I know the trail very well. If your interested send me an email.

Wolf
AT 89-91, 90, 91-94, 94, 93-06
Ect.

bfitz