PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations Needed in NH-VT-MA-NY Sunday-Tuesday backpacking on 2019 Memorial Day

W8lkinUSA
10-13-2018, 19:33
Hello,

I've stumbled on this site many times while researching gear, but am still ignorant on backpacking trips. I am hoping for guidance and recommendations for overnight backpacking in the NH, VT, MA, or NY near campgrounds. I'd like to prevent last year's poor and impromptu attempt at Mt. Wolf from Lost River Valley Campground beginning with the unmarked trailhead for Gordon Pond Trail onto bushwhacking through bogs and averaging 2.5 ticks per person.

I will take a road trip from Texas, but I have 3 years of day-hiking experience whereupon every Sunday was spent in NH and VT mountains during the early 1990s. My buddy does not have hiking experience, but I can talk him through the technical parts and various useful navigation skills. We will camp in Acadia National Park before backpacking.

Requirements are numbered below:
a - Date: 2019 Memorial Day Weekend.
1 - State Options: ME, NH, VT, MA, or NY. [added ME to the list]
2 - Trail Difficulty: Moderate.
3 - Campground campsite and parking: Saturday through Tuesday (then trekking to the trailhead).
4 - Overnight backpacking: Sunday and/or Monday nights.
5 - Miles per day: 6-7 miles [A couple of extra miles might be okay. I'm still recovering from hip injury. I've begun 2-3 two-mile hikes/jogs per week].
6 - Campsite requirement: 1 hammock and 1 two-person tent.
7 - Water availability: Prefer to carry 1-Liter for reduced weight (spare empty bladders/bottles will be on hand) [we'll carry more if there's no option].
8 - Scenery: Beautiful. :-D

These are all the concerns that come to mind for now. I enjoy learning and welcome all constructive feedback. Thank you.

-w

Venchka
10-13-2018, 20:42
Scratching my head. I’m confused.
Texas is kinda big. Where is “central Texas”?