PDA

View Full Version : Advice on my first trail hike

Flyboy718
12-02-2018, 11:59
I am a school teacher, so I have the summers off and that affords me the opportunity to take advantage of the AT. I wish I could do a through hike but I still need to spend some time with the family this summer. That being said I would be able to devote a month to hiking the trail. My questions are what would you do if you had a month on the AT? What section would you do?

FreeGoldRush
12-02-2018, 12:08
Starting at the start and heading North sounds like fun. If you are of the opinion the start is in Maine, then that might work as well. (Being from the south I'm a bit biased.)

The potential problem with picking the most notable parts of the trail is that it may be hard to later hike the "boring" parts.

MuddyWaters
12-02-2018, 12:19
The month matters

Very hot in south and mid-atlantic in july/aug. Go north those months if have option. Of course, thats where the thru hiker bubble will be too.......

Summer.....honestly.......the sierra or CO blows AT away. Take your mo and do CT. Its closer to you anyway.

Venchka
12-02-2018, 13:07
Go WEST!
CDT. Cumbres Pass just north of the NM-CO line. North or South from the pass. Take your pick.
I guess school starts in August. Mid-July to Mid-August is decent weather and manageable stream crossings.
Don’t be fooled by the Colorado Trail. The CDT traverses Colorado. The CT is just a couple of CDT access trails.
JUST KIDDING Y’all.
Have fun!
Wayne
Seriously. Go west!

johnacraft
12-02-2018, 13:55
what would you do if you had a month on the AT? What section would you do?

I hike for the views, so for me a good month on the AT would be to start at the Nantahala Outdoor Center (MP 137) and hike the balds along the NC/TN border and the Smokies. 12-14 miles per day for a month is ~350-400 miles, which would put you through the Grayson Highlands in Virginia before you ran out of time.

Greenlight
12-02-2018, 14:55