PDA

View Full Version : Frugal Thruhiking

LShuman024
01-05-2019, 23:46
I'm new to this page, but I figured it would be the best place for advice and knowledge about the trail. My boyfriend and I are planning to hike nobo in spring of next year. We're both pretty frugal, as we've had to deal with financial hardships in the past. Additionally, we prefer the DIY approach as often as we can. I'm working on learning as much as possible about mail drops. My question is...is it possible to survive solely on mail drops for food source?
I do understand that things happen and resupplying in towns may be needed due to accidents, weather, falling behind schedule, etc.
My goal is to buy bulk foods and get a decent inventory of dry foods (oatmeal, dried fruits, etc.) and separate them into boxes that would be enough for a week's worth of food for an average of 6 months. Our families have agreed to mail these for us.
We plan on saving as much money as possible before starting our thru hike, but we would like to use as little funds as possible.

I'd love to hear any advice or opinions on this matter.

Gambit McCrae
01-06-2019, 00:05
Lets say it takes you a day longer to get to town to pick up your package? And that day falls on a sunday. You now have to either backtrack and camp in the woods waiting for the PO to open the next day or get a hotel room.

Your also going to buy bulk food, fyi that bulk food is gunna get old from a taste standpoint. Even if you love the food while your at home, your taste will change while on the trail.

Long story short, mail drops are out of date and you will find that mail drops have become a thing that loved ones mail to their hikers which contain mostly not desired things or impractical items. I whitnessed it many times this past year. Just resupply as you go

welcone to WB! :)

Slo-go'en
01-06-2019, 00:30