PDA

View Full Version : Dehydrated beans

WesleyCBruce
07-16-2019, 18:23
I have never used dehydrated beans before. My question is- if dehydrated beans are placed in water and just sit will they absorb the water and be easily digestible? (Even though it won't be the most luxurious)

Venchka
07-16-2019, 18:51
It depends.
Were the beans cooked first before being dried?
My wife buys raw dried beans. Soaks them for 24 hours. Then cooks them for 3-4 hours.
The best red beans and rice ever! But I’m prejudiced.
YMMV
Wayne

Time Zone
07-16-2019, 20:16
I found out the hard way (kind of) that there's a big difference between dried beans and dehydrated beans. Sounded the same to me, but there's a great deal of difference in cooking times. It's my understanding that the kind of beans you find in the grocery store (in bags) are dried beans. Dehydrated beans are harder to find, check online.

peakbagger
07-16-2019, 20:36
Dehydrated beans were cooked then deydrated. If you dont mind a bit of crunch you can eat them raw. Sort of like Corn Nuts. Dried Beans are not of much value to a backbacker as they require lots of fuel. I buy #10 tin cans of dehydrated beans from Honeyville.

Tipi Walter
07-16-2019, 21:39
Some of the best beans to cook and dehydrate at home are lentils---2 lbs of dried lentils make enough dried lentils for 10 or 15 days worth of backpacking dinners---especially when added to cooked and dried brown rice.

First thing, thoroughly cook up lentils with salt and plenty of olive oil.

Once cooled dry up whole wad on dryer trays.

Deadeye
07-16-2019, 21:54
Dehydrated beans, like those you can get at harmonyhouse.com, are pre-cooked, then dehydrated. they rehydrate quickly. You can add them dry to something like minute rice or instant mashed potatoes and they'll be edible. I like beans & rice with curry powder, raisins and summer sausage, or beans & mashed potatoes with spam.

Siestita
07-16-2019, 23:19