PDA

View Full Version : Osprey Atmos 35

dumbkid
03-07-2006, 23:43
Hi.
I'm looking to buy a new pack. I'm new to backpacking and have mostly done car camping with 5-8 hour hikes. I would like to begin doing 1 or 2 night packing. Would this size pack be large enough for me? Or should I get the Atmos 50? I prefer the size of the Atmos 35 and am a light packer in general. Thanks.

Also, any opinions on this pack or different packs would be appreciated.

Jack Tarlin
03-07-2006, 23:49
The Atmos series are great packs, but unless you're committed to lightweight backpacking (i.e. tarping; using minimalist gear; packing very few clothes and little food, etc.), you might find the 35 a bit small.

The Atmos 50 doesn't weigh that much more than the 35 and has a lot more space....it can be used on a thru-hike, for example, if you know what you're doing. Many folks who hiked with one last year (their first year on the market) loved the 50. I fitted and sold quite a few of these packs to hikers early in their trips, and ran into many of these folks much later, in Virginia, Pennsylvania, and New England. All of them were delighted with their choice.

For more info on the Atmos series, see www.ospreypacks.com

dumbkid
03-08-2006, 00:20
I was a bit worried about the size, but I plan to do mostly 1 night hikes/camp in the local region and figured I might be able to get away with the smaller bag and use it on quick day hikes. Clothes will be kept to a minimum as well as most other supplies. As of now, I don't plan to do any thru-hiking due to lack of time in my work schedule.

dumbkid
03-08-2006, 00:28
BTW....please excuse the post. I just realized that this is a forum for the appalachian trail. If you could still help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Jack Tarlin
03-08-2006, 11:00
This is a site devoted to the A.T., but we discuss all sorts of things here. Your original question was just fine.

bulldog49
03-08-2006, 11:12