PDA

View Full Version : Falling

maxNcathy
03-09-2006, 22:38
I'm quite new to serious trail hiking and my wife and I are going to be spending a some time on the AT next month going north from Damascus.

From reading trail journals it seems that most hikers take a few falls...Bill Irwin(blind hiker) is reported to have fallen 5000 times on his thruhike.No doubt, he holds the record! Poor guy. His pictures show him wearing knee pads.

I wonder if I should get some knee pads too. It is not fun falling on a pile of rocks on your knees.

Have you ever felt like Humpty Dumpty and had a great fall on the AT?

How many times would you guess you have fallen on the AT over the years?

I am not trying to belittle or embarrass anyone, just wondering about how many times on average a person can expect to take a tumble over a six month hiking expedition on the AT.

Max

lobster
03-09-2006, 22:42
I hiked the whole trail without falling. Just be careful.

the goat
03-09-2006, 22:46
4000+ miles with probably b/t 6-10 fall downs.

you'll be fine, no worries.

Old Spice
03-09-2006, 22:51
Bill Iwin is the man. I found out about the trail through him some years back while working in Maine. Apropos of the falling thing, I would forget the knee pads, keep your pack as light as you can, use trekking poles, and just be careful.

Almost There
03-09-2006, 22:54
Just be careful where the trail is narrow. I have fallen twice. Once with ice on the trail when I stepped on an ice slick root and fell sliding about ten feet down the trail. The second was when I stepped near the edge of the trail and the soft ground gave way beneath my foot. It happens but for the most part nobody every gets really hurt...other than ego.

MileMonster
03-09-2006, 23:01
I took a few diggers. Usually happened on wet rocks. No major injuries, though. Just get up and keep walking.

weary
03-09-2006, 23:05