PDA

View Full Version : Lunches

cbreneman
01-13-2020, 11:02
Hey Everyone!

I'm a total newbie here. Myself, along with my father-in-law and brother-in-law are going to do the in-state portion of the AT the week leading up to Labor Day. This will be my first long hike that I've ever done (96.1 miles). As far as lunches go, we'd like for them to be quick. A break is good, but we also want to keep going. My thought process to keep from taking out everything in our packs would be protein bars and dried fruit with some nuts.

My question is: Is this dumb? If not, what are some protein bars you suggest? I'm seeing everything under the sun researching online.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Tipi Walter
01-13-2020, 11:15
My standard lunch bar is either a Larabar or a ThinkThin protein bar. (I've been thru every energy bar you can imagine---Clif, Pro Bar etc etc. They all get old).

If you take a loaf of bread on your trip in the morning you could make a couple peanut butter/jelly or honey sandwiches and ziploc them up for a quick sit down lunch.

Some people like a red apple and some cheese. Then there's peanuts and raisins---GORP. Or trail mix. Or granola. Or a bagel and cream cheese.

Nanatuk
01-13-2020, 11:20
Protein bars are usually Oatmeal based (Clif Bars and similar) or Date based (Lara Bars and similar). I bought a bunch of different kind of bars to taste test before my hike last year and ended up packing Kind bars, Lara bars, Probars and RX bars in my resupply boxes.

I loved the Probar - Superfood slam and the RX bars. Very filling and good energy,
I ended up loathing the Lara bars - Something about the texture. I ended up smearing peanut butter to make them palatable.
I love the Kind bars, but not very filling as a meal, more of a snack.

Everyone's taste is different so go give them a try before you go.

My usual trail lunch is a tortilla with either Peanut butter and dried fruit or salami and cheese (baby bels).

john844
01-13-2020, 11:58