PDA

View Full Version : How I planned/am doing my hike

Spiritual Pillgrim
03-21-2006, 08:38
:-? This is an FYI for anybody who might be planning a thru hike. Disclaimer: I'm no expert. This is what I did and how it is working for me.
Planning:
1. Purchased AT trail mate software from ATC and used it to get a rough estimate of shelters/campsites with 12 mile avg day thru Damascus, 15 mile avg day to the Whites, then back to 12 mile avg day to Katahdin. Compared the results to Thru Hiker Companion and make a "paper plan" intinerary.
2. Accepted the fact that a "paper plan" is subject to change.
3. Looked at towns/hostels to decide on mail drops. Planned mail drops to coincide with periods where I would be on the trail longer than 5-6 days so I would spend less on in town resupply.
4. Estimated # of days needed for resupply in mail drops and began dehydrating like a mad man about 6 weeks before departure. The AT Meal Planner (?) book was great for recipes. Had a few other recipe books on hand too.
5. Prepped mail drops with addresses and contents list for trail support team (my wife), which also were subject to change based on my needs. (a call home from the trail modified the contents with additions and/or removals)
6. Examined and rexamined packing list and shaved ounces wherever possible.
7. Bought a bus ticket to Gainesville and contacted Hikers Hostel for lodging and transport to trailhead.
Hiking:
1. Started real slow! Longest day early in the hike was about 14 miles from Low Gap to Tray Mtn. All other days were about 4 (shortest to Neels Gap) to 10 or 12 miles.
2. Took a zero day at Blueberry Patch because the Poteats were great and my body told me so!
3. Began to feel as if I was getting trail legs about half way thru the Smokies and started to stretch my mileage, doing my 1st 20+ mile day coming out of the park.