PDA

View Full Version : Hiking in Muck Boots

Gambit McCrae
12-09-2020, 14:25
Anyone with experience here?

illabelle
12-09-2020, 14:38
I don't know Gambit. I haven't seen other hikers wearing them. Somebody might think you were a newbie or somethin'.
https://dks.scene7.com/is/image/GolfGalaxy/15MBOMMNCHRSTBLCKFBO_Black?qlt=70&wid=600&fmt=pjpeg

randy.shopher
12-09-2020, 14:54
Heavy, not very durable, not really made for long hikes.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

JNI64
12-09-2020, 15:05
You want mukluks like shug wears in Minnesota at -40 .

Apollo117
12-09-2020, 15:08
I think you'd be much better off with a pair of water proof treated leather or synthetic hiking boots.

Muck boots have their place, but they don't provide enough support to be comfortable for a long hike.

Gambit McCrae
12-09-2020, 15:12
I don't know Gambit. I haven't seen other hikers wearing them. Somebody might think you were a newbie or somethin'.

I am a newbie...or somethin'

SoaknWet
12-09-2020, 15:22
Only it they're steel toed.

Tipi Walter
12-09-2020, 15:25
I spent a couple years (1982-83) backpacking in Sorel pack boots and while warm and mostly waterproof they are CLUNKY to hike in and just slowed me down. Great for living outdoors in the winter, not so great for long term backpacking.

Plus, a forgotten fact---These rubber type boots can cause bad toe infections over time as the feet don't breathe.

TNhiker
12-09-2020, 15:53
i say if you like to hike in them, knowing all the pro's and con's, who gets a rat's butt what other people think........

Gambit McCrae
12-09-2020, 16:04
I should have added:
Distance: around 30 miles
Duration:2.5-3 days
Season: Strictly winter

JNI64
12-09-2020, 16:25
Gambit Google mukluk and look at the men's arctic.
Shug said at -40 he had two pairs of socks on and had cold feet ,but then he looked at the recommended way to wear them from mukluk and they said one pair recommended, he took one pair off and was toasty warm sitting around camp at -40 .