PDA

View Full Version : Gear to buy

weathergirl
03-22-2006, 21:57
Hi guys, I'm looking to do some overnight hiking in the future, but I dont' really have any gear, just a decent internal frame backpack. I go to NC State and the outdoor rec program is having a gear swap meet next week. What kind of stuff should I really be looking for good deals on? Of course, there's the obvious stuff like a tent, good sleepingbag, etc. But I'm sure that there are other items that I'm not thinking of that'll be expensive too. Since I'm a student, I'm working on a very limited budget here so I'd like to get the most out of my buck.

Also, what are some issues involved in looking for a good sleepingbag for long distance hiking trips? I know they all have a temp range that they're suited for. I'm looking to buy one that'll be good in most weather conditions.

PS. Sorry, mods, if this isn't a straight forward enough question. I'm new at this :)

Skidsteer
03-22-2006, 22:15
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/article.php?p=132311&postcount=1
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/article.php?p=132370&postcount=1

A place to start.:) :welcome

fiddlehead
03-22-2006, 22:49
20 deg. down sleeping bag. polypro long underwear, frogg toggs. everything else you can make or get cheap at a discount store (like aluminum cook kit, ginsu knife, pepsi bottle, fleece jacket) have fun and remember: you don't need much.

chemist
03-22-2006, 23:21
GO PACK!! (class of '04 here)

If you're new to backpacking and want to get some general info, I'd recommend the REI in Cary (by the Best Buy). They were always pretty helpful for me and sometimes its nice to see the stuff people talk about here.

Can you still rent gear from the outdoor rec people? Might be a good way to try stuff out and see what you like?

weathergirl
03-22-2006, 23:28
That's a good idea. I've rented stuff from the outdoor rec office before to camp out for basketball tickets.