PDA

View Full Version : Digital Camera lense cover?

Tommy
03-27-2006, 00:17
In search of a digital camera to take on my hike with me, I have been researching the low end of digital cameras out there. Now keep in mind I have little to no knowledge about cameras and just want something basic and small to take with me. But from what I've seen there are almost no cameras out there that come with a lense cover, snap on or slide.

Is there a reason for this and have they developed scratch resistant lenses? Or am I missing something and they do come with them, or have the companies not have a lense cover as part of a "buy a new camera every year from scratching" plan?

tommy

neo
03-27-2006, 03:02
In search of a digital camera to take on my hike with me, I have been researching the low end of digital cameras out there. Now keep in mind I have little to no knowledge about cameras and just want something basic and small to take with me. But from what I've seen there are almost no cameras out there that come with a lense cover, snap on or slide.

Is there a reason for this and have they developed scratch resistant lenses? Or am I missing something and they do come with them, or have the companies not have a lense cover as part of a "buy a new camera every year from scratching" plan?

tommy

i carry a fuji a303,this is a newer model:cool: neo

http://www.fujifilm.com/JSP/fuji/epartners/digitalA400Overview.jsp?item=I842412&dbid=842412&urltype=overview&NavBarId=I842412

OutbackHack
03-27-2006, 10:03
Virtually all the compact cameras in Canon's PowerShot line have internal retractable lens covers. I've owned 3 of these (S100, G5, SD10) and love how well they stand up to the abuse I subject them too. They produce some really good quality images for a compact camera and get good battery life.

For a thru-hike I'd recommend the A series because they use standard AA batteries.

Rain Man
03-27-2006, 10:25