PDA

View Full Version : Concerns/Questions Regarding My HH ULB A-Sym

Tudor
04-16-2006, 22:35
Ok, so this weekend I FINALLY was able to hang my hammock up! I must say I enjoy hanging much more than being grounded. I am new to this, and a few concerns/questions have already approached. I found that the "Tree Huggers" that come with the ULB A-Sym are all but too small for most of the trees around my parts. I solved that by placing an order for 72" "Tree Huggers".

Another concern/question I have is about how high should I set the ridgeline/treehuggers? I set them at about head height, or 5'11". With this set up, when my weight is in the hammock, I tend to only be 7" or so off the ground! *shouldn't be due to my weight as I only weigh 170 lbs., and it's rated for 200* This is a major concern to me. I figure that I should be chair height or more above ground when fully in the hammock. What things could I be doing wrong?

When I set-up, I make the ridgeline as tight as I possibly can, so as to not have the effect above. Yet it still happens. Help!

Just Jeff
04-16-2006, 22:41
Careful on making the ridgeline as tight as you can. Cinch it down pretty good, but the ridgeline isn't designed to hold the weight that the rest of the hammock is. Once I heard a few cracks when doing that...

I think a new hammock stretches the first several times you use it. After several more nights in it, it should stop stretching and you won't have that problem. One interim solution - set it up, get in, then retie one end to take up the slack. Should help a bit. If the hammock is centered the first time, retie the foot end instead of the head end.

Or you could just put the huggers higher until it's done stretching.

Rifleman
04-16-2006, 23:06
[quote]