PDA

View Full Version : Switching to a tarp - Need advice

mnof1000v
04-17-2006, 12:34
***Before I begin my post, I'd like to make clear that I'm not in the market for a HH. I'm not a particularly big fan, and this is not a post in search of numerous replies from HH enthusiasts.

I'm currently hiking the AT, and I find that I almost never use my tent. In the 6 weeks I've been out here, I've used it exactly 3 times. I'm looking to switch to some sort of tarp system.

I'd like to make the transition in the MOST INEXPENSIVE, MOST CONVENIENT manner possible. I have never used a tarp before, but I figure since I mostly go shelter to shelter (as I have so far), I'm really looking at a tarp as a "just-in-case" piece of equipment. My tent is just not worth the weight if I'm not using it frequently.

Any suggestions?

Mags
04-17-2006, 12:57
The Campmor SilyNylon tarp is a good "bread and butter" tarp. At 13 oz (for the 8x10) it is pretty light. There are lighter tarps out there, some with nice features (cantenary shape, tie out lines instead of grommets, etc.), but for the price..it works. $65.

Another bonus is that Campmor is reached toll free and they are very familiar with how to ship to thru-hikers!

1-800-Campmor

http://www.campmor.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?productId=88643&memberId=12500226&storeId=226&catalogId=40000000226&langId=-1

FWIW, I've used it on the PCT (and other places) and plan on using it on the CDT this year.

If you want anultra budget (but fairly light tarp), a painters drop cloth work as well. You can find this item is just about any hardware store.

A great site on how to setup up tarps is by our very own Sgt. Rock:
http://hikinghq.net/gear/tarp.html

erichlf
04-17-2006, 13:05