PDA

View Full Version : Reasons

TerinceSH
04-17-2006, 17:35
Hi, I'm a student who is writing a paper on the Appalachian Trail, and long-distant hiking. I figured I'd give this a shot. I was wondering if anyone could offer any main reasons as to why people quit hiking the AT, what keeps them from continuing onward?

Programbo
04-17-2006, 17:50
Hi, I'm a student who is writing a paper on the Appalachian Trail, and long-distant hiking. I figured I'd give this a shot. I was wondering if anyone could offer any main reasons as to why people quit hiking the AT, what keeps them from continuing onward?

Shall we assume you mean why they quit hiking a "thru-hike"?......Or just quit hiking in general?

SGTdirtman
04-17-2006, 17:58
my reason for hiking the AT is simple... I cant drive on the trail

Footslogger
04-17-2006, 17:58
=================================
I believe that most often it's because the actual experience is different (in a not so good way) than their expectations. Second to that would be an unanticipated injury or illness.

'Slogger

MrSparex
04-17-2006, 18:15
From my extensive reading of posts...I find that money situations, family responsibilities, injury and Physical inadequacy (wimp outs) seem to be popular reasons for ending the quest.
I hiked the approach trail Saturday to Springer Mountain. I had no intentions of more than a day or two hike but WOW! I got pics of the 2 plaques and my 8 year old son enjoyed it. I couldn't get back to camp before dark so we went to the "Hike Inn" (everbody say: "awwwwww").
That was different to say the least.

stickman
04-17-2006, 18:24
Granny Gatewood said most people can't do what she did because they are panty wastes. Then again, I havent made or attempted a through (yet), so I'm gonna be a little humble about how I say that!

Stickman

hammock engineer
04-17-2006, 19:05
Here is a link to the trail journals page of people that got off the trail.

http://www.trailjournals.com/journals_type.cfm?status=4