PDA

View Full Version : Newbie hydration question

cjordan
04-18-2006, 09:54
Hello,
I'm a newbie and will be attempting a 3 day, 2 night hike from Amicalola
this May.
I'm sure this is a stupid question but I can't figure it out.
Since I'm only going to be hiking for a few days, I didn't want to get a
hydration pack. I figure I'd carry water bottles. But this brings up another
problem as to how to carry the bottle so it's within reach without having
to remove my pack everytime I want a drink? My pack, UL45, does not
have pockets that are easily accessible while the pack is on.
Any suggestions?

Thanks
Allen

jlb2012
04-18-2006, 09:56
soda bottle with a jug knot around its neck and a mini-biner to clip it to your pack strap - if the bottle moving around on the strap bothers you use a loop of shock cord around the bottom of the bottle to steady it

Fiddler
04-18-2006, 10:07
Most outfitters have several kinds of accessory pockets you can add to your pack, including the mesh pockets made for bottles. Some attach to the straps, some to the belt, some have their own belt. Take a bottle with you to be sure it fits. Or like HOI suggested, tie on a 'biner and clip it on. Simpler and cheaper and just as effective.

scothiker
04-18-2006, 10:47
You can also get a gadget at Walmart, $2.99 or so, which slips over the neck of a water bottle (like a Dasani bottle) and has a cord attachment with a ring you can clip a 'biner on. I found mine in the fishing section, for some reason.

max patch
04-18-2006, 11:03
Since I'm only going to be hiking for a few days, I didn't want to get a hydration pack. I figure I'd carry water bottles. But this brings up another problem as to how to carry the bottle so it's within reach without having to remove my pack everytime I want a drink?

Well...I've hiked for 30 years and I keep my water bottle in my pack which means I have to remove my pack every time I want a drink. Hasn't bothered me yet.

vipahman
04-18-2006, 11:15