PDA

View Full Version : Impassble sections of Jersey AT with small dog?

Mr. Obvious
04-20-2006, 00:36
Hello . Newbie here.. simple question
Planning a section hike of the entire state of NJ.. I have a small dog, wondering if there are any sections of the trail in Jersey that would be impassable with a small dog. He's a jack russell,mini doxi... The last thing i want to do is have to turn around because of a sheer rock wall he couldn't climb or we couldn't lift him up..

Any thoughts?.. Thanks for your time..

MR. Obvious.

saimyoji
04-20-2006, 00:51
The only place I found impassable was over the Dunnfield Creek at DWG. But that was last fall, the bridge may be repaired by now.

There are places as you circle SFP that your dog may find tricky.

The biggest problem you'll find will be other hikers that don't like you dog on their trail.

Good luck!

Mr. Obvious
04-20-2006, 01:05
I don't understand the animosity towards dogs? ( maybe their are other threads here?).... I'm not overly worried about this, but i'd rather avoid a confrontation if i could.... He's a small guy, friendly , always with his tounge hanging while on the trail ( unless he's eating ) , he even knows to do his deeds off the trail.....

RITBlake
04-20-2006, 01:24
I don't understand the animosity towards dogs? ( maybe their are other threads here?).... I'm not overly worried about this, but i'd rather avoid a confrontation if i could.... He's a small guy, friendly , always with his tounge hanging while on the trail ( unless he's eating ) , he even knows to do his deeds off the trail.....

some people have had bad experiences with getting bittten or chased by dogs, having wet dogs climb on their sleeping bags inside the shelter, having to step around dog waste in the trail etc...