PDA

View Full Version : Getting unlost (off the trail)

Viking (US)
04-25-2006, 11:59
Sorry if this is in the wrong place, I'm still feeling my way here. The thread about maps on the AT got me thinking about the fact that I've got a lot of hiking experience, but very little real backcountry experience other than a couple of hunting trips years ago. The conventional wisdom I've always heard, like from childhood on, about getting lost in the backcountry is to go downhill until you find a stream or other waterway, then follow it downstream because sooner or later you'll hit a road or some kind of civilization. A quiz in a recent Backpacker magazine said that was a myth that will get you dead, and the thing to do was stay where you are, build a fire with green wood, and send up smoke signals. Now I can see why following a stream might be a bad idea, with cliffs and waterfalls and such. So I guess my question is, assuming you're lost and the situation is sufficiently bad that staying put seems like a bad idea (out of food or water, for example), what should you do?

kyhipo
04-25-2006, 12:08
well first off I wouldnt reccomend my offer like get lost a!I usually just get lost and keep hiking for days its part of my hike:eek: .But one should keep hiking eventually he will find his way back or ahead of the appalachian trail.While hiking the pct I would have been better off staying on the trail but I was pulled to all the side trails by some force,and mind you I loved it:banana ky

SGT Rock
04-25-2006, 12:10