PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for 3 person tent

orangebug
05-28-2006, 15:42
I'm getting married in about 3 weeks, and we plan to do a honeymoon section hike in about 6-7 weeks (VA or eastern NY). Ellen is a bicyclist, used to a sag wagon bringing along a huge dome tent that would hold a family of 10. I'm and lightweight ounce weenie, used to either my Nomad or a Speer Hammock.

So, I figure a larger 2 person/3 person tent would fit the bill. I've asked Ron Moak (6 Moons Designs) about his fare, but I'm asking the general community about what is good/bad/indifferent in the sort of tent that won't dissappoint us. I hope to spend much of the honeymoon slackpacking between B&B's or hostels, but at least one or two nights in the backcountry. (SW VA is my favorite, but suspect NOVA, MD will get the nod).

Bill...
<if anyone has a Nomad 2+2 to sell, I'd be interested>

Kerosene
05-28-2006, 16:57
While I have no direct experience with this tent, check out the Fast & Light Mutha Hubba (http://www.msrcorp.com/tents/muthahubba.asp) from MSR. Looks like it's about 7 pounds, 40 sq. ft., $400. It earned a 2006 Editor's Pick from Backpacker.

bigcranky
05-28-2006, 18:57
Hi, OB,

Congratulations. We have a Henry Shires Tarptent Rainshadow. This tent easily holds three adults, and it's a palace for two with gear. Here's a photo:

http://photoserver.facilities.wfu.edu/hiking/hikingphotos/1186.html

My wife and I used it through the Shenandoahs last June, and it's just sinfully large for two people. Oh, and with a hiking stick for the front support, it weighs all of 38 ounces with everything.

BTW I highly recommend Shenandoah in June. It's thru-hiker season, and all the restaurants and lodges are open. The trail is great, and you have plenty of opportunity for food prepared by professionals. Mmmmm, blackberry milkshakes.

Have fun.

gsingjane
05-28-2006, 21:32