PDA

View Full Version : Harpers Ferry Hostel

Takoda
06-06-2006, 11:48
:confused: Anyone stayed here? Comments?

Thanks!

Shiraz-mataz
06-06-2006, 11:58
A few months ago our Boy Scout troop did a bike/hike down the C&O Canal from Antietam to Harpers Ferry and we stayed at the hostel. Being fairly new to hiking, etc, this was the first time I'd ever stayed at ANY hostel. Being scouts, we of course camped out on the lawn but we had access to the building and used the well-equipped kitchen. Everything looked pretty good to me: laundry, beds, common room with a library and a computer... I'd give it two thumbs up, but then again I have no other hostel experience to compare it against.

TOW
06-06-2006, 12:07
good enough place to stay..........

Newb
06-06-2006, 15:08
If you fill your Nalgene from the hose beware...the water tastes like hiker feet

Footslogger
06-06-2006, 15:21
Are you talking about the AYH (American Youth Hostel) just outside the city off the tow path ?? If so, I stayed there in 2003 on my thru and was treated well. The caretakers shuttled hikers back and forth into the town area and also had a great picnic on the 4th of July while we were there.

'Slogger

TOW
06-06-2006, 16:40
Are you talking about the AYH (American Youth Hostel) just outside the city off the tow path ?? If so, I stayed there in 2003 on my thru and was treated well. The caretakers shuttled hikers back and forth into the town area and also had a great picnic on the 4th of July while we were there.

'Sloggerif you stayed there before the fourth of july then the caretakers were ray and loretta johnson, i don't think this one shuttles hikers...............

Footslogger
06-06-2006, 17:12
if you stayed there before the fourth of july then the caretakers were ray and loretta johnson, i don't think this one shuttles hikers...............
=========================
YUP ...it was Ray and Loretta.

'Slogger

veteran
06-06-2006, 17:20