PDA

View Full Version : New Trail Volunteer

Sierra98
06-15-2006, 21:44
Hi I am planning on volunteering June 26th thru July 1st in the Smokey Mt. region of the AT. I am unsure about the weather cond. during this time, what to pack, how to pack for the 6 days I will be on the trail. The AT group is providing most of the food water and tools. However, I am a novice backpacker who has not been on the trail in 2yrs. I had a baby at the end of 2004, moved in 2005 and now it is mid-2006 and I am startin to get back into the swing of things. So, I am looking for advice regarding the above and physical fitness prep, etc.... Any women out there that can help me.
Tammi:sun :confused:

Mammoth
06-15-2006, 22:12
If you have a set of stairs in your house/building then you could exercise by jogging or walking the stairs for a few sets. This could be especially good to do during the baby's naps, because then you would still be near the kiddo and it's free.
I do a lot of things like crunches, push-ups, pull-ups, lunges, and pilates to retain flexibility for trail prep. Maybe you could work those into a routine.
I hope that you have a great time volunteering!

Sierra98
06-15-2006, 22:28
Thank you! What type of hiking/backpacking exp. do you have?

Mammoth
06-16-2006, 10:01
Ah, backpacking is limited at best. Three day trips all inside Minnesota, but I have an end-to-end hike of the Superior Hiking Trail planned for August. I go on day hikes all the time though, usually around seven to ten miles.

sliderule
06-16-2006, 11:38
I am unsure about the weather cond. during this time, what to pack, how to pack for the 6 days I will be on the trail. :confused: