PDA

View Full Version : What is the best camera from a thru-hike

Moon Cricket
06-18-2006, 07:37
I have little or no experience with cameras and will be buying one for my up and coming through hike. Can anyone suggest a camera that worked for them. I assume it needs to be durable and resistant to changing weather and terrain.
Also as a side note.
I was looking for suggestions on socks, what kind, and how many I would need.

Thanks MC

Footslogger
06-18-2006, 09:16
[quote=Moon Cricket]I was looking for suggestions on socks, what kind, and how many I would need.
===============================
For socks I'd suggest you consider Thorlo Light Hikers with CoolMax. Quantity-wise I'd suggest you wear one pair and carry 2 pair. Keep an extra 3 - 4 pair in a bounce box or have them mailed to you at different intervals to swap out the ones that are getting burned out.

You can get a pretty decent deal on the socks and often free shipping at the following website:

http://www.thesockcompany.com

Good Socks help make Happy Feet ...

'Slogger

BDT
06-18-2006, 10:11
I use a fuji E510 and love it. I only weighs 5 oz. and takes amazing photos.

weary
06-18-2006, 10:31
I would start by buying the July issue of Consumer Reports, which rates 100 digital cameras. CU is not infallible, but rarely do they recommend a real lemon in my experience.

People without much camera experience should choose simple to operate cameras. I also strongly recommend double A batteries, thus avoiding the hassle of recharging on the trail.

Choose from the Consumer Reports "small and simple camera list. The magazine lists the Sony Cyber Shot DSC W-5 as a best buy at $220. You can shave a few ounces and add a $100 by buying a subcompact. But I wouldn't.

Weary

Michele
06-18-2006, 11:11