PDA

View Full Version : Theft of Re-supply

boarstone
06-18-2006, 17:20
Hi folks: It seems that we have theives up here on the "100 mile wilderness". A resupply I dropped for a large party consisting of 4 pails was philphered. You can't imagine the hardship and endangerment this has put on the hikers envolved! I am appalled! This is the first this has happened in years. This is making my job that much harder and I may have to stop this practice or change places of the drop. Advice/suggestions please.:mad:

Vi+
06-18-2006, 17:36
Boarstone,

I suppose the shock you feel is a reaction to the unexpected nature of thievery there.

I have seen caches hanging from trees and been amazed at the amount of trust involved.

I feel uncomfortable leaving a pair of dirty wet socks out to dry. They’re too important to risk losing.

I don’t know how you communicate where your clients can locate their cache. If I did this for a living, I think I’d find some bear and human proof construction, if such a thing is allowed within resupply range, and put a changeable combination lock on it.

Skidsteer
06-18-2006, 18:11
Some kind of steel cache box that you can cable around a tree with a heavy-duty lock. Then use Vi+'s idea about the changeable combo lock for the box lid. Master Lock model # 175 is a good one.

The combo is 4 digits long and easy to set.

hikerjohnd
06-18-2006, 19:23
Some kind of steel cache box that you can cable around a tree with a heavy-duty lock.

I like this idea - but wonder what the low impact folks would have to say. If you go the strongbox route, is it possible to partially bury or conceal the box?

Skidsteer
06-18-2006, 19:34
Originally Posted by Skidsteer
Some kind of steel cache box that you can cable around a tree with a heavy-duty lock

I like this idea - but wonder what the low impact folks would have to say.

No worries. We'll simply install 'rubber crutch tips' in each corner of the cache box. :D

Lone Wolf
06-18-2006, 20:07