PDA

View Full Version : a tarp and a nest

gumball
06-18-2006, 17:26
I have a question--I recently purchased an 8' x 10' tarp and the go-lite lair 1nest, thinking that it would be a decent, lightweight alternative to hammocking (sometimes I am comfortable hammocking, sometimes not-so-much)...I just wanted an alternative.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone uses these two in combination and, if so, do you use another configuration besides an A-frame set up with the tarp? If so, what? Might it have been a better idea to get the go-lite lair tarp to go with this? I was thinking that the larger tarp would give me a few more options for just a few more oz., but now (hindsight is great) I am concerned about water flying into either end in an A-frame set-up.

I am new to tarps, so please excuse my ignorance. I've been reading as much as I can about them and have practiced setting it up on and off all weekend.

thanks. gum.

Skidsteer
06-18-2006, 18:19
How many tie-outs are on your tarp? The number and placement will sort of dictate how many configurations are available to you. Of course you can get around this somewhat by using tarp clamps and such.

Just Jeff
06-18-2006, 18:22
You can use the 8x10 with a hammock. Not sure how well a Lair would work on a hammock. That might be one reason to keep the tarp.

Google it - there are a few tarp pages with all kinds of congurations and instructions. I think Sgt Rock has several on his, IIRC.

Skidsteer
06-18-2006, 18:31
Here's a tarp link you might find useful:

http://www.equipped.com/tarp-shelters.pdfn

Frolicking Dinosaurs
06-18-2006, 18:43
The link Skids provided - http://www.equipped.com/tarp-shelters.pdf - is an excellent resource. Skids, I couldn't get your link to work, but I was familiar with the site?????

Footslogger
06-18-2006, 19:06
[quote=gumball]Anyway, I was wondering if anyone uses these two in combination
======================================
Well ...sort of.