PDA

View Full Version : Backpack Fitting

Cuffs
06-26-2006, 14:23
I'll have some travel time over the next few months and will be heading wherever the road takes me.

What are some of the best gear stores for getting a good fitting for a new pack? (knowledgeable staff, quality gear, wide selection...)

Thanks for your input!

vaporjourney
06-26-2006, 15:35
Not sure about what sort of stores you have in Alabama, but REI is probably the only national store that I know of
which will have gear for most of your backpacking needs. However the pricing certainly isn't the best, but staff can be great depending on the store. I'm sure most will recommend doing research online (whiteblaze is the best resource!), and ordering from one of dozens of great stores.

These are the most well known online shops, where I've gotten most of my gear:

www.campmor.com
www.sierratradingpost.com

I'm sure others can give more knowledgable replies, especially since I'm relatively new to backpacking myself. good luck.

general
06-26-2006, 17:26
mountain crossings, on the AT, at Neel Gap, in georgia. second to none. they carry osprey, ULA, Dana, mystery ranch, gregory, mountain hardware, and probably one or two more brands that i'm not thinking of. they have a quality staff of long distance hikers. well worth the drive from AL.

Frolicking Dinosaurs
06-26-2006, 19:17
A second vote for Mountan Crossings.

Skidsteer
06-26-2006, 19:49
Make that three.

@ 4 hour drive from Birmingham. And the AT runs through it, to boot. Hint, hint.

pedal
06-26-2006, 20:46
I went to REI in Atlanta and looked at, played with, and made decisions about gear but ordered most of my gear from either Campmor.com, or backcountry.com. Sometimes you get lucky and the clerks are knowledgeable enough at REI to help out. Other times, not so. Mountain Crossings has it all I suppose, great gear selection and knowledgeable staff.

SS

Cuffs
06-28-2006, 23:09