PDA

View Full Version : Research Paper on Appalachian Trail & Wilderness Experiences

concordhiker
07-07-2006, 22:59
I am a doctoral student at North Carolina State University. I am also an AT hiker. I am working on a research paper on the wilderness experience and the changes individuals experience spending extended periods of time in natural settings. I am focusing on hikers who have thru hiked the AT, or spent extended periods of time on it. If you would like to share how your time on the AT helped you make important life decisions, transitions or changed the direction of your life, I would really like to hear from you. I will not identify individuals in this paper, just the personal experience. What I hope to demonstrate in this paper is the value of wilderness, how individuals experience positive change while in wilderness, and the need to preserve wilderness. I hope to have this published in an academic journal. Thanks!

hikerjohnd
07-07-2006, 23:11
Hmmm... I did my Master's thesis on identifying AT thru-hikers as a folk group. Would definitely fit the "changes individuals experience" portion of your proposal. As soon as I get it back from the committee (there are issues with my interviews and the debate between Oral Historians and the International Review Board on humans involved with research) I'll be happy to share.

fiddlehead
07-07-2006, 23:35
Not much of a wilderness experience on the AT unless you do a southbound or hike in the winter. The CDT would have much better (true) wilderness situations.

sliderule
07-07-2006, 23:44
Not much of a wilderness experience on the AT unless you do a southbound

I look forward to a more thorough explanation of the "directional" aspect of that concept.

concordhiker
07-12-2006, 21:57
I would very much be interested in hearing from you. Let me know when you are ready to discuss it.

Mark