PDA

View Full Version : No hiking experience?

VictoriaM
07-09-2006, 16:35
How many of us '07s are total newbs? I'm a city girl. My idea of roughing it is a three star hotel. But I've known I wanted to thru hike for as long as I've known what the AT is, and next year I'm doing it, experienced or not.

Anyone else here completely new to backpacking? I've done a few day hikes here and there, but that's about it. I'm hoping I can get out on some training hikes, but I'm not sure how possible that is. If there are any others here like me, I'd love to chat through e-mail or YIM. Maybe we can help each other prepare.

I'm [email protected], YIM tsjuster.

Singe03
07-09-2006, 16:51
I dont really qualify but I'm hoping to be out again in 2007 and I was pretty much an educated newbie in 2003. Keep reading these forums and you will know all you need to know, after that it just a matter of getting up every morning and walking north.

the_iceman
07-09-2006, 18:10
Victoria -

Desire is the key ingredient to success.

Do you research and get good gear. Focus on the big three, Pack, bag, tent. See if you rent any of this stuff for a trial run from a local outfitter. Get you pack last so you get the right size. Get a bag warm enough for your start date.

See if you can try before you buy. I have spent money on some stupid stuff. Read what everyone has to say, then find something you like. Post back here with brand and model to see if anyone has any experience with that product. This has saved me from buying rain pants I liked but found out here that they are not so waterproof.

What part of the country do you live in? You need to get out there for at least a few days. There is no substitute for experience. I have section hiked 700 miles or so and plan to thru-hike 2007. Here is what I find when I hit the trail.

Day 1 - feel great - too much excitement
Day 2 – wake up sore but excited. Draggin butt by the end of the day