PDA

View Full Version : Northern NJ

VictoriaM
07-09-2006, 16:56
Hi all! As I mentioned in my other post, I'm planning to thru hike next year. I'm new to backpacking, and could really use some practice. I'm looking for a very patient hiker to help me figure out my gear and let me tag along on some hikes. Hopefully I'll get a lot of day hikes and some overnights or multi-day trips in this year.

If you're from the area but not up to dealing with me, maybe you could point me in the direction of some well marked trails of varying lengths nearby?

Thanks much!

Amigi'sLastStand
07-09-2006, 18:25
I live in Summit currently, until 7/17. I am still recovering somewhat from double stress fractures of my feet. I have been hiking everyother day for therapy and am not yet back to my usual pace. I hike in the Watchung Lenape Indian Reservation. If you'd like, I could check your gear and get you prepped while I do my therapy. I know, it's roughing HAVING to hike for therapy, but doctor's orders. So email me if you want to.
Chuck

Kerosene
07-09-2006, 18:27
Upper North Jersey has a number of choices for short weekend hikes, especially if you can get someone to shuttle you from where you park your car.

As a newbie, you might want to try the AT section from High Point to Vernon or further. This is a nice easy section with some pretty walking.

There are a number of trails around Delaware Water Gap also, but those are usually steeper and rockier. Check those out once you get in a little better backpacking shape.

Here is a link to the NY/NJ Trail Conservancy that has a bunch of info on trails in the area: http://www.nynjtc.org/trails/index.html

Cookerhiker
07-09-2006, 21:58
Upper North Jersey has a number of choices for short weekend hikes, especially if you can get someone to shuttle you from where you park your car.

As a newbie, you might want to try the AT section from High Point to Vernon or further. This is a nice easy section with some pretty walking.