PDA

View Full Version : Where in the US should I hike?

diogenes
07-11-2006, 01:12
So. As a graduation present, my sister is buying her and I plane tickets to go backpacking anywhere in the United States(<$400). I'm not very experienced at all, but the only time I've ever gone backpacking, was a three day solo hike in the Kittattinny ridge on the hottest day of the summer (literally), for which I overpacked a whole lot, and I managed that fine. Any suggestions? Don't really know much about what to do, because I haven't traveled in any usual manner before. (I've traveled to England and stayed with family, and I used to live in the Carribean on a sailboat). Any suggestions of hostels, where I can buy fuel for my stove ect.? And where I should go!? I live In New Jersey, and plan on going in August.

diogenes
07-11-2006, 01:14
That's less than $400 dollars per round trip fare.

Ridge
07-11-2006, 01:47
Take the airfare and buy some gear and head toward the AT in NJ, I'd say go toward Katahdin @ Baxter State Park in Maine. Won't be far from home if you need to bail out.

Amigi'sLastStand
07-11-2006, 02:59
Whats up Jerseyan? I am also in NJ currently, Summit. If I could hike anywhere in the US, hmmm, I'd say the NJ to ME section in fall. Start in late july or early august and watch the trees change color. I'd have to say the trails in the NE during fall are overwhelmingly beautiful.

Heater
07-11-2006, 03:04
That's less than $400 dollars per round trip fare.

How much time do you have and what time of year you go?

If I was leaving now I'd do Vermont, New hampshire or maine.

Maybe the Long Trail. http://www.greenmountainclub.org/

LIhikers
07-11-2006, 07:35