PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for 2 person tent

Mouse Poo
07-18-2006, 22:10
I am a newbie to overnight backpacking. My son and I are doing a section of the AT and need a light 2 person tent that could also be used in the future to fit my 6' tall husband and myself. I'd prefer to keep the weight at or under 4 lbs. Cost is also an issue. I'd appreciate any suggestions.

sliderule
07-18-2006, 22:19
Golite Den. Light, simple to set up, efficient use of space. The "back porch" is great for storing your boots or shoes.

DrewNC2005
07-18-2006, 22:47
Try the new Tarptent Double Rainbow - looks awesome! I have another Tarptent and can attest to its high quality and superior workmanship!

MedicineMan
07-18-2006, 23:09
been using one albeit rarely for several years....its advantage is as mentioned above-quick/easy setup and price....last time i was in mine was just north of Checoah Gap and woke up to 4.6F, that was before evolving into the hammock....
the Double Rainbow will change the world of lightweight 2 man tents...will be taking it to Kings Canyon in 3 weeks...only down is the price but is it that expensive compared to everything else?

Whiskyjo
07-18-2006, 23:20
My wife and I use the REI Quarter Dome, Im 6ft 1in and that is the limit for this tent but its freestanding, double wall, total pack weight of 4 pounds, with two doors and two vestibules.Its a good tent for us.

Peaks
07-19-2006, 07:47
There are lots of different tents out there. Best suggestion is to go to your local outfitter and try on some tents.

One basic tent that has been popular for a number of years is the Sierra Designs Clip Flashlight. However, may be a little short for 6 footer (try it on first).

If your budget is limited, you might check out the Eureka Timberline. It has been popular for over 25 years. Good for the occasional backpacker. But you will probably want something lighter.

bigcranky
07-19-2006, 08:14