PDA

View Full Version : Supplies For Thru Hike

strebor
07-20-2006, 21:42
I have read alot about re-supply when thru-hiking. But, which is better and least expensive. Mail Drops or buying at a local store on the trail?

Also I keep reading alot of comments from hikers that you do not need a water filter or a way to purify water. Is water that clean and avalible on the trail.

Lone Wolf
07-20-2006, 21:46
Cheaper and stress free buying along the way.
I personally feel you don't need to filter or treat water on the AT. I've been drinking it for 20 years and never been sick.

Skidsteer
07-20-2006, 21:49
I have read alot about re-supply when thru-hiking. But, which is better and least expensive. Mail Drops or buying at a local store on the trail?

Also I keep reading alot of comments from hikers that you do not need a water filter or a way to purify water. Is water that clean and avalible on the trail.

Articles:

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/article.php?p=89401&postcount=1

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/article.php?p=119497&postcount=1

Phreak
07-20-2006, 21:50
I plan on using maildrops as much as possible on my '07 thru-hike. I don't eat 'processed' foods, so I'm concerned I won't have many options for resupplying along the trail. I'd rather have the logistic/time issues with the PO's as opposed to not being able to find healthy food at a store.

I have a friend who is a triple crown hiker and he's never used anything for treating water on the AT, PCT or CDT. Personally, it's not worth the risk of catching a stomach bug. I have a sensitive stomach and I can't imagine being laid up for days on the trail with some illness. But others I hike with never treat their water and have been fine. So I guess it's a personal choice.

AdamantiumKid
07-20-2006, 21:59
Even if it's not something that would make me ill and have to leave the trail, I'd feel much better having as few bugs and floaties as possible swimming in my belly. I'm bringing a filter :)

general