PDA

View Full Version : Help a newbie with some gear suggestions

DonQuixote
08-01-2006, 22:07
Hey everyone, This will be my second post and I already LOVE this site. Thanks to everyone for the wonderful atmosphere I have found!

I need some help getting started, on a budget. I'm a college student, so the biggest factor is money, I'm not going to let a few extra pounds stop me from enjoying the woods.

That being said, I am trying to hike as much as possible and gear-up for the AT in 2009! I got the itch when I was 10, the first time I heard about it. We were at the top of clingman's dome, and I told my mother that I wanted to walk through the mountains, and not stay in the silly commercial-esque campgrounds. Later that day I found out about the AT, and was hooked. I get goosebumps any time I think about it!

Ok, back to the gear. I'm going to put a list of some things I have, in hopes that the more experienced here can give me some ideas about what's good, what's bad, and what I could do to lower my weight or generally improve my hike. Just remember the college student budget. I am crafty, and am also interested in making my own gear if it is more cost-effective.

Here goes (weights are approximate and guessed... I don't have a scale):

Pack: Old Jansport External frame + rainfly
Tent: North Face Tephra 22 with MSR TI groundhog stakes, ~4-4.5 lbs. ($50 on sale)
Bag: Nebo Mummy bag, I think it's +30 or +40, ~3-4 lbs
Pad: Coleman Reast Easy 4oz.
Boots: North Face Mt. Tam Mids, 2 lbs
Shirt: Breathable Moisture Wicking sport type from Goodwill
Shorts: Old Navy board shorts
Stove: Coleman F1 Ultralight, 2.7 oz.
Pole: Swiss Gear adjustable aluminum
Knife: ~3.5" fixed blade with thin rope wrapped around the tang instead of normal scales
Light: Coleman Widebeam headlamp

emergency whistle/match case
2 bandanas
magnesium fire starter
waterproof matches
small first aid kit (moleskine, pills, gauze, bandaids, etc.)
nylon cord
map compass
coleman watch