PDA

View Full Version : Pad vs. Underquilt?

Dhorochokaro
08-04-2006, 14:13
Hello hammockers!
Let me preface this thread by mentioning that I plan to hike the trail in 2007. My partner in crime has already bailed on me so I am planning this thing solo. Two years ago I purchased a TT Squall, expecting that I would need a two person shelter, all of a sudden the curtain has been lifted and I can get a hammock! I have not decided it is correct for me, but I wanted to voice some concerns and let the well informed, well experienced community ease my mind.

Q1: I have a WM Summerlite (32 degree bag), if I were to pick up a hammock, would you suggest an underquilt and a pad for, say a mid march start?

Q2: I have read a great many threads suggesting that underquilts are more popular amongst hammockers. I have this bright red flashing light going off in my head that says, if I don't have a pad it will become very difficult to spend the night in a shelter. Assuming there will be those days where it is raining or that I am too tired to set up a shelter for myself. For this reason, I assume a pad would be mandatory? If so, do you think I could get away with my WM bag and just a pad?

Wow, I never expected to even contemplate a hammock and now I am as thrilled as ever at the thought of sleeping i one for 120 nights!

Thanks all,
David

Seeker
08-04-2006, 14:43
A1- don't know about the bag... i'd go with a 20* bag for awhile at first. someone smarter than me could tell you about when/where you can swap it out for the lighter bag. you'll need a pad or underquilt regardless, up to about 65* temps. some people, like me, use one up to about 75* or higher... we just don't like our backs too cool. you'll figure it out as you practice with the hammock (and i recommend lots of it. there's a learning curve... not hard, but different.)